Many thanks to Cristina Facchini and Rolf Sander and welcome to Barbara Ervens as executive editor of ACP

27 November 2019

After serving the scientific community of Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics (ACP) with great dedication and success, Cristina Facchini and Rolf Sander have resigned from the executive committee that coordinates the ACP editorial board. Cristina has been a long-term supporter, and Rolf is one of the co-founders of ACP. He helped design the concept of interactive open-access publishing with public peer review and has steered the journal since its launch in 2001 (Short History of Interactive Open Access Publishing). On behalf of the ACP editorial board and scientific community, we gratefully acknowledge Cristina and Rolf for their outstanding contributions and achievements that were instrumental to making ACP a successful role model for the development and improvement of scientific communication and quality assurance across and beyond the geosciences. At the same time, we are very happy to welcome Barbara Ervens as a new member of the ACP executive committee. As one of the most active and experienced co-editors, Barbara joined the executive committee to maintain and further advance the editorial coordination of ACP and its service to the scientific community.

Uli Pöschl, Ken Carslaw, Thomas Koop